Irish Flag Football Association | Summer League Finals 1995-1997

Champions 1995-1997

1995Northside Devastators
1997Drimnagh Cycos

Reference: [1-2]


In 1993 Cillian Smith, of Trinity College Dublin Thunderbolts American Football Club, started the Irish Collegiate American Football Association which played its first tournament that summer, taking the Summer Bowl name which had been used for American Football & Flag Football International Tournaments between Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland sides in aid of charities such as GOAL (an International Development Agency).

The first ICAFA Summer Bowl in 1993 featured four teams and was won by the Marauding Fungi, with the College All-Stars in second place, and two Marlay teams taking the remaining two places. In 1994 the Summer Bowl featured the Monaghan Hurricanes, from the North West of Ireland, and in 1995 it had become a League, won by the Northside Devastators. In 1997 the Summer League was won by the Drimnagh Cycos.


Internet Archive

[1] Dublin Rebels | Wayback Machine (2006) Club History [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 24 November 2019]

Social Media

[2] Eirball | Facebook (2019) Message to Eirball from Liam Farrell 23 November 2019: “Photo of Page from Programme from 2nd Anglo-Irish Flag Football Challenge – Leicester 9 May 1998”: [Accessed 23 November 2019]


Thanks to Liam Farrell & Peter Mullen, Drimnagh Cycos

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 24 November 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply