Category: Quebec Junior Football Provincial Championship (1902-1905)

Quebec Junior Football Provincial Championship (Canadian Football) 1902-1905

Present-day Canadian Junior Football League Logo [Ref: 1]

Quebec Provincial Championship 1902

Quebec Jrs6Westmount II Rugby Club0
Westmount II Rugby Club19Quebec Jrs4
(Westmount II won series 19-10)
Quebec Rugby Football Provincial Playoffs 1902 [Ref: 2]

Quebec Provincial Championship 1903

Provincial Playoffs
Westmount II29Quebec City Jrs0
Westmount II7Quebec City Jrs1
(Westmount II won series 36-1)
Quebec Rugby Football Provincial Playoffs 1903 [Ref: 2]

Quebec Provincial Championship 1904

DateHome TeamAway Team
1904Quebec City Jrs16Grand Trunk FC0 +
1904Montreal Rugby Club III23Grand Trunk FC4
1904Montreal Rugby Club III26Quebec City Juniors9
Quebec Junior Football Championship 1904 [Ref: 2]

+ Declared a 0-0 tie as Quebec City played with Intermediate Age Players.

Quebec Provincial Championship 1904

Grand Trunk FC5Quebec City Jrs0
Grand Trunk FC10Quebec City Jrs1
(Grand Trunk won series 15-1)
Quebec Junior Football Championship 1905 [Ref: 2]


The Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union was one of two Canadian Football Junior Leagues in Quebec for the period 1902 to 1905, with the Quebec Independent Junior Football league being the other. The Champions of the two Leagues played a Provincial Championship Series between them.

The winners Provincial Championship in the time were Westmount II Rugby Club (1902, 1903), Montreal Rugby Club III (1904) and Grand Trunk FC (1905)

The Canadian Junior Football League has been running Amateur Province-based Championships for players aged 18-23 since 1887, under various names (Canadian Rugby Union, Canadian Junior Football League). In Canada Gridiron Football was known as Rugby until the Canadian Football League split away from the Canadian Rugby Union in 1958 to form its own Professional League and adopt more American Football Rules. The sport has been known as Canadian Football since. (For more on Canadian Football history see: Canadian Football Leagues



[1] Canadian Junior Football League | Facebook (2011) CJFL Profile Picture: March 3, 2011 [Internet] Available from: 20 December 2019]


[2] British Columbia Football Conference (2019) CJFL Records | All Time Standings [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 21 May 2019]


Thanks to Robert Burns. Judith Burns, Steve Hearn, Anton Pippo O’Grady, John Wills, John Morahan & John Kane.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 9 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.