GAA Hurling | St. Brendan’s Cup Finals 1954-1960

St. Brendan’s Cup Finals 1954-1960

New York v National League Winners


Date Venue Home Team Away Team
31.10.54 Polo Grounds, NY New York 3-10 Cork 7-8
09.10.55 Croke Park, Dublin Tipperary 4-17 New York 4-7
20.10.57 Polo Grounds, NY New York 4-4 Tipperary 2-14
14.11.58 Croke Park, Dublin Wexford 3-7 New York 3-8
20.09.59 Gaelic Pak, NY New York 1-5 Tipperary 4-11
09.10.60 Croke Park, Dublin Tipperary 5-18 New York 4-4

Reference: [1]


The St. Brendan’s Cup Finals were held in Hurling and Football between New York and the National League winners between 1954 and 1960. The Finals were named after St. brendan who according to Irish Legend sailed of the West Coast of Ireland to discover land far to the West, before Columbus or the Vikings.

New York beat Wexford in the 1958 Hurling Final by 17 Pts to 16, but all other winners were from Ireland, with Tipperary winning four of the Finals, and Cork the first in 1954.







[1] GAA (2017) – “The Complete Handbook of Gaelic Games – Full GAA Records from 1887 to 2017 Inclusive DBA Publications Limted, Dublin. Pg. 405




Thanks to Tom Dunne


About this document


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 16 January 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply