Fan Ownership League 2001

Proposed FOL Cities

FOL Cities
New Orleans
Washington DC
Fan Ownership League [Ref: 1]


The Fan Ownership League was a brief attempt by United States Football League founder Dave Dixon to start another Major League / AAA rival American Football League to the NFL.

It had four planned cities: Seattle, Philadelphia, New Orleans and Washington DC, but the emergence of another rival league, the International Football Federation, saw the two leagues consider merging, although it was a third league, the XFL, with its multi-million dollar NBC TV contract which put an end to both leagues.


[1] Remember the IFF (2020) Home [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 15 April 2020]


Thanks to Ed Murphy

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 15 April 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply